Networking on the Isle of Skye (Week 5)

This week our coursework was all about networking and we were asked to engage in three activities to enhance our network in a photographic context.

For me, networking is second nature and throughout my professional career it has been central to my work and fundamental to my success. In the final five years of my career I was a Management Consultant working across the higher education sector and providing advice and support to senior managers in support of their vision and objectives. This involved working with colleagues from many different institutions, with different challenges and priorities and networking more widely with institutions and individuals related to the university sector.

From a photographic point of view I have been a member of the Royal Photographic Society (RPS) for many years, achieving my Licentiate (LRPS) and Associate of the Royal Photographic Society in 2012. For a number of years I was a member and active Committee member of the Kingswood Photographic Society. More recently I have been a member of a small, photographic co-operative – the Avon Valley Photographic Society – which meets regularly to review each others work, provide constructive and supportive feedback and talk all things photographic.

Moving forward and in the context of selling my work I have created a marketing strategy and plan to find out more about opportunities on the Isle of Skye where my business will be based. While I was on Skye I was able to do some networking as well as produce images for my Work in Progress Portfolio and also join some virtual networking opportunities. This week I have:

  1. Visited the Skye Skies and Landscapes Exhibition by local Isle of Skye artist Lynne Forrester https://www.lynneforrester.com/
  2. Discussed with Lynne Forrester possible outlet options for my work including Skye Makers Gallery in Dunvegan, Isle of Skye http://www.art-skye.co.uk/skye-makers-gallery.html
  3. Visited Skye Makers Gallery in Dunvegan
  4. Acquired a copy of Art Skye, an annual publication featuring studios, workshops and galleries across the Isle of Skye
  5. Subscribed to On Landscape, an on-line magazine https://www.onlandscape.co.uk/
  6. Viewed and gained information on a possible Exhibition venue for my Final Major Project at The Steadings Gallery, Balmacara Square

As I work through my marketing plan and the actions I have set myself I will add to my network on the Isle of Skye.

Author: Alison Price

Over the past ten years I have travelled the world, capturing the wonders of nature - particularly wildlife and landscapes. My journeys have taken me to South Africa, Kenya, Rwanda, Alaska, the Canadian Arctic, the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and Antarctica.

Leave a comment